Home > Stores > Services > Alamy > User Reviews
Alamy

Alamy Reviews

36 Total Reviews
Selection Experience
Coupon Availablilty
Payment Process
Refund / Cashback
User Interface
Overall Experience
Overall Rating (out of 5)

2.6

Based on 36 reviews Write A Review
Write A Review

Selection Experience

Coupon Selection

Payment Process

Refund / Cashback

User Interface


Alamy ALAMY SALE: UP TO 30% + 20% OFF (May 22-23)
Ben Newton
Ben Newton
store : Alamy
review date : Nov 25 2021
Product Purchased : Photos
Photos Purchased : Oct 05 2021
1.0 Selection Experience
1.0 Coupon Selection
1.0 Payment Process
1.0 Refund / Cashback
1.0 User Interface

“Super disrespectful with contributors”

  • overall experience

    Super disrespectful with contributors time. Retouch content, upload, tag only to have everything rejected without anyone looking over it.
    A crappy platform that unfortunately many are still using...

Gina
Gina
store : Alamy
review date : Nov 24 2021
Product Purchased : Photos
Photos Purchased : Nov 15 2021
1.0 Selection Experience
1.0 Coupon Selection
1.0 Payment Process
1.0 Refund / Cashback
1.0 User Interface

“ripping people off.”

  • overall experience

    The free trial enrolls you into an annual membership which is $29 a month. In order to cancel, you have to reduce you annual membership to a monthly membership. The monthly is 49 dollars a month. In order to cancel, you have to pay an additional 20 to be monthly, in order to cancel the annual. Its a huge scam. They are ripping people off.

Eric
Eric
store : Alamy
review date : Nov 22 2021
Product Purchased : Photos
Photos Purchased : Oct 09 2021
2.0 Selection Experience
2.0 Coupon Selection
2.0 Payment Process
2.0 Refund / Cashback
2.0 User Interface

“Very Expensive Images”

  • overall experience

    The pricing of Alamy is very high and ridiculously expensive. There's only one option to purchase, you need to simply buy a pack, which costs more than and is reasonably affordable for anyone needing this content, or individually at a 100% mark up of the picture's actual value.

Peter Jordan
Peter Jordan
store : Alamy
review date : Nov 21 2021
Product Purchased : Photos
Photos Purchased : Oct 20 2021
1.0 Selection Experience
1.0 Coupon Selection
1.0 Payment Process
1.0 Refund / Cashback
1.0 User Interface

“Avoid doing business with this company!”

  • overall experience

    The pricing plans are simply disgusting and poorly structured. They don't care about small businesses and are only focused on making outpriced money. About 60% of their content can be found on other sites that are less expensive. When you ask them for help or complain. Their reply will leave you irritated they only say "oh well" thanks for your feedback. Occasionally they may have the 1-2 photos or footage I need not more than that. It's a very painful experience whenever I try to do business with them.

Simon
Simon
store : Alamy
review date : Nov 18 2021
Product Purchased : Photos
Photos Purchased : Nov 01 2021
1.0 Selection Experience
1.0 Coupon Selection
1.0 Payment Process
1.0 Refund / Cashback
1.0 User Interface

“No Response From Customer Care”

  • overall experience

    I give Alamy one star because zero isn't an option. I went through the signup process and at the end was not automatically logged in. So I typed in my email and password and was notified that my account had been deactivated. Today, after 4 days of pathetic dealings with their service people I received notice that I have been banned for life because of involvement in troubles on the sight. Not sure how that's possible when I've never logged in. Ever. The email also said they will never respond to further correspondence. How is their company successful?

Marcus
Marcus
store : Alamy
review date : Nov 17 2021
Product Purchased : Photos
Photos Purchased : Oct 04 2021
1.0 Selection Experience
1.0 Coupon Selection
1.0 Payment Process
1.0 Refund / Cashback
1.0 User Interface

“Scammed by them”

  • overall experience

    Purchased ONE (1) photo from this site and they roped me into a $30 monthly plan without my knowledge. Tried to cancel my subscription multiple times only to be met with condescending customer service. It's so frustrating as is trying to make ends meet as a young adult but this company really kicks you while you're down by robbing you of $30+ every month. Do NOT use this website.

Ian
Ian
store : Alamy
review date : Nov 16 2021
Product Purchased : Photos
Photos Purchased : Nov 04 2021
1.0 Selection Experience
1.0 Coupon Selection
1.0 Payment Process
1.0 Refund / Cashback
1.0 User Interface

“They send Copyright companies after you 4 years later”

  • overall experience

    I run a website for a charity for the elderly in our local area that was built over 4 years ago, and I get a demand letter that I pay for copyright infringement on a single image. The charity gets no funding and relies on their charity shop and donations with the help of volunteers. When we pay the fee that means some of our elderly customers will have to go without. We have already had to close our computer help due to lack of donations due to covid. So they hire a company to chase copyright claims at every instance of the image on the web hoping they pay the settlement.

Ryan
Ryan
store : Alamy
review date : Nov 15 2021
Product Purchased : Photos
Photos Purchased : Nov 01 2021
2.0 Selection Experience
2.0 Coupon Selection
2.0 Payment Process
2.0 Refund / Cashback
2.0 User Interface

“Selling compressed files as uncompreseed”

  • overall experience

    They sell highly compressed jpeg files for a high price (20 dollars) claiming it can be uncompressed by opening it on photoshop and saving as an uncompressed format, which is completely stupid and non-sensical if you understand what a jpeg compression does with the image.

Elton
Elton
store : Alamy
review date : Nov 14 2021
Product Purchased : Photos
Photos Purchased : Nov 16 2021
1.0 Selection Experience
1.0 Coupon Selection
1.0 Payment Process
1.0 Refund / Cashback
1.0 User Interface

“Abysmal and a scam.”

  • overall experience

    They will often take photos already in the public domain, slap their watermark on them, and try to sell them. Avoid Alamy

Polo
Polo
store : Alamy
review date : Nov 12 2021
Product Purchased : Photos
Photos Purchased : Nov 01 2021
5.0 Selection Experience
5.0 Coupon Selection
5.0 Payment Process
5.0 Refund / Cashback
5.0 User Interface

“Make money with photography”

  • overall experience

    Alamy is an amazing app for everyone who loves photography. It is the best way to make money online by selling photos you have taken. You can make a good amount of money if you are good at photography. The website is easy to use and handle. You can also download good and awesome photos if you like it.

Mark Tyson
Mark Tyson
store : Alamy
review date : Nov 10 2021
Product Purchased : Photos
Photos Purchased : Nov 10 2021
2.0 Selection Experience
2.0 Coupon Selection
2.0 Payment Process
2.0 Refund / Cashback
2.0 User Interface

“Scam”

  • overall experience

    They charge high if you cancel plan. They are a kind of mf people. I hope you understand. They will trap you with a cheap plan and charge you high if you cancel the plan. There are hidden charges that is not shown to you at the time of subscription. Beware!

Rebecca
Rebecca
store : Alamy
review date : Nov 08 2021
Product Purchased : Photos
Photos Purchased : Nov 03 2021
1.0 Selection Experience
1.0 Coupon Selection
1.0 Payment Process
1.0 Refund / Cashback
1.0 User Interface

“Scam and is after your wallet!”

  • overall experience

    This website is a scam. They've tricked me into an non-cancelable 1-year subscription plan. I cant delete my credit card info and cancel the plan without calling from Asia to the US and pay a ridiculous fine! Unbelievable.

Chuck S.
Chuck S.
store : Alamy
review date : Nov 02 2021
service purchased : Photos
Photos Purchased : Oct 20 2021
2.0 Selection Experience
2.0 Coupon Selection
2.0 Payment Process
2.0 Refund / Cashback
2.0 User Interface

“Bad Vector Images”

  • overall experience

    I downloaded a set of vectors from shutter stock of the 50 states for use in my digital wood carving machine. Was really excited about making these customized for people. When i opened the file the vectors were garbage. No way to get credit even though the file they were selling is garbage. I told them this was my first and last purchase to many others that do what you do and my business does not have time for rip offs. A $100.00 lesson for me.

Wayne K.
Wayne K.
store : Alamy
review date : Nov 01 2021
Product Purchased : Photos
Photos Purchased : Oct 02 2021
1.0 Selection Experience
1.0 Coupon Selection
1.0 Payment Process
1.0 Refund / Cashback
1.0 User Interface

“Do not use this company”

  • overall experience

    Unauthorized payments that do not show up on your profile payment history but do reveal themselves on your bank statements. The free trial trap caught me out when somehow I was billed for two separate annual subscriptions. When you contact customer support you are mocked. Took out a fraud dispute through my bank to address the issue, and canceled my card for security reasons. Scum.

Rolf Richardson
Rolf Richardson
store : Alamy
review date : Oct 31 2021
service purchased : Photos
Photos Purchased : Oct 12 2021
4.0 Selection Experience
4.0 Coupon Selection
4.0 Payment Process
4.0 Refund / Cashback
4.0 User Interface

“The glory days are over”

  • overall experience

    For the moaners a bit of history. In days of film only people with professional equipment (Pentax 67 or Hasselblad) could produce the quality necessary to sell photos. When digital replaced film at the start of the millenium, Alamy entered what was in practice a new industry. Their business model was ground-breaking, as they accepted ALL photos submitted, subject to QC, and gave you 60% of the sale price. It was suck-it-and-see, Alamy and established professionals together surfing this exciting new technology. Nobody knew how it would settle down. Initially, we had a ball, but as digital cameras improved, everyman started eyeing this interesting market. Submissions to Alamy turned from a trickle to a flood, then an avalanche. With gross over-supply, in about 2008 the market crashed. Starting with Alamy in 2001, I still sell about a dozen images per month, but the amount I get is maybe 10% of peak prices during the mid noughties. I've had my ups-and-downs with Alamy, especially their now increased take of the cake, but they are just trying to survive in a very difficult market.

Mr. John
Mr. John
store : Alamy
review date : Oct 27 2021
Product Purchased : Photos
Photos Purchased : Oct 26 2021
2.0 Selection Experience
2.0 Coupon Selection
2.0 Payment Process
2.0 Refund / Cashback
2.0 User Interface

“Don't wait to get paid”

  • overall experience

    A ton of rules and confusion loading and tagging and then they don't pay the photographer once a picture is purchased. I have a thousand pictures online and 3 have sold for a measly 15.00 and they will not pay out for this in over 3 years because you have to make a specified amount before they let go of your money and hold on to all of your photos that they sell for pennies. It is a truely shameful experience.

Ariel
Ariel
store : Alamy
review date : Oct 26 2021
Product Purchased : Photos
Photos Purchased : Oct 12 2021
1.0 Selection Experience
1.0 Coupon Selection
1.0 Payment Process
1.0 Refund / Cashback
1.0 User Interface

“Selling compressed files as uncompreseed”

  • overall experience

    They sell highly compressed jpeg files for a high price (20 dollars) claiming it can be uncompressed by opening it on photoshop and saving as an uncompressed format, which is completely stupid and non-sensical if you understand what a jpeg compression does with the image.

Maria B.
Maria B.
store : Alamy
review date : Oct 25 2021
Product Purchased : Photos
Photos Purchased : Oct 04 2021
4.0 Selection Experience
4.0 Coupon Selection
4.0 Payment Process
4.0 Refund / Cashback
4.0 User Interface

“Lots of options are there”

  • overall experience

    What I like best is incidentally what I additionally like least. That is the sheer number of photographs that surface when you type in a straightforward search query. I like having such countless choices to browse, yet it can take a lot of time. In any case, they have a lot of great looking photographs for every subject under the sun.

Nancy
Nancy
store : Alamy
review date : Oct 23 2021
Product Purchased : Photos
Photos Purchased : Oct 04 2021
4.0 Selection Experience
4.0 Coupon Selection
4.0 Payment Process
4.0 Refund / Cashback
4.0 User Interface

“Alamy is an agency for PROFESSIONALS!”

  • overall experience

    Alamy started as a stock photo agency that Picture BUYERS trusted. I licensed thousands of dollars of images during my years as a photo editor for a large publisher. Now that I'm retired, I sell my own images on Alamy. I really can't understand the bad reviews here. I'm happy with the results of my sales - not a lot, but I only have 500 images on their site. Alamy is a site for professionals! They do not allow photos shot with a phone! They have strict standards for QC and I've had few problems. Almost all my images are accepted with the exception of a few that I knew weren't the best quality. Their rates have gone down over the years, because that's the business these days! The days of ASMP rates are GONE folks!


Nick
Nick
store : Alamy
review date : Oct 21 2021
Product Purchased : Photos
Photos Purchased : Oct 04 2021
1.0 Selection Experience
1.0 Coupon Selection
1.0 Payment Process
1.0 Refund / Cashback
1.0 User Interface

“Very slow payers and hardly any sales”

  • overall experience

    As a photographer I upload images to many stock agencies but I can honestly say that this company are the slowest payers I know, waiting months to be paid, as other contributors have noted. Also don't expect to sell many images, I have a few thousand and barely sell one image per month. Very disappointed with this company.