Login
Home > Stores > Services > Ancestry > User Reviews
Ancestry

Ancestry Reviews

59 Total Reviews
Selection Experience
Coupon Availablilty
Payment Process
Refund / Cashback
User Interface
Overall Experience
Overall Rating (out of 5)

3.9

Based on 59 reviews Write A Review
Write A Review

Selection Experience

Coupon Selection

Payment Process

Refund / Cashback

User Interface


Ancestry ANCESTRY MEMBERSHIP: UP TO $120 OFF (Dec 04-05)
Erin Samson
Erin Samson
store : Ancestry
review date : Nov 12 2021
Product Purchased : DNA Kit
Purchased DNA Kit : Nov 12 2021
2.3 Selection Experience
2.5 Coupon Selection
2.0 Payment Process
2.3 Refund / Cashback
2.0 User Interface

“Ancestry's Service isn't good”

  • overall experience

    I joined Ancestry to build my family tree. I really liked this thing. But. when I submitted my DNA test, I was disappointed as the result showed up too late. It came after 3 and a half months later. I was worried it had gone missing. On top of that, If you don't cancel before the conclusion of the two-week free trial period. Overall, I had a mixed kind of experience.

Natasha Boyle
Natasha Boyle
store : Ancestry
review date : Nov 10 2021
Product Purchased : DNA Kit
Purchased DNA Kit : Nov 02 2021
4.3 Selection Experience
4.4 Coupon Selection
4.2 Payment Process
4.5 Refund / Cashback
4.3 User Interface

“Best Way to know about your Ancestors”

  • overall experience

    Ancestry also has a membership program where you may gain different membership benefits depending on your plans. I acquired a 6-month all-access subscription for $100 less than the regular price.

    My membership gives me access to all of my DNA data as well as all of Ancestry's services. I strongly encourage everyone to try out Ancestry's services or goods at least once to see for themselves.

Adrianna James
Adrianna James
store : Ancestry
review date : Nov 09 2021
Product Purchased : DNA Kit
Purchased DNA Kit : Oct 31 2021
4.7 Selection Experience
4.5 Coupon Selection
4.4 Payment Process
4.0 Refund / Cashback
4.3 User Interface

“Pretty Interesting Website”

  • overall experience

    When I was surfing one day and saw an ad for Ancestry. This was completely new for me. So I decided to get an Ancestry kit and give it a shot. I paid $99 for the Ancestry DNA kit, and all I had to do was gather my DNA samples for analysis. My samples were analyzed, and I discovered some fascinating characteristics about myself.

Genett Umbrace
Genett Umbrace
store : Ancestry
review date : Nov 01 2021
Product Purchased : DNA Kit
Ordered DNA Kit : Oct 26 2021
3.2 Selection Experience
2.6 Coupon Selection
2.3 Payment Process
2.5 Refund / Cashback
2.4 User Interface

“Took the Ancestry Test”

  • overall experience

    My sister placed an order for an AncestryDNA kit and sent in her samples. She was billed $99 plus taxes. She believed that she did not need to pay anything else for the results. She was offered to pay 20 USD per month for as long as she wanted to see the results after they were released. The results were pretty much accurate but it's too costly to avail of this service.

Chris Amaze
Chris Amaze
store : Ancestry
review date : Oct 31 2021
Product Purchased : DNA Kit
Purchased DNA Kit : Oct 13 2021
4.7 Selection Experience
4.3 Coupon Selection
4.4 Payment Process
4.3 Refund / Cashback
4.0 User Interface

“Liked this new thing”

  • overall experience

    For a long time, I've been browsing the Ancestry website. I decided to buy a DNA kit on October 13 last month and received it only yesterday. I've always been curious about my predecessors and forefathers.

    I discovered that they had relocated to a little town Miami. This kit's data is highly accurate, and it may be able to assist you in locating loved ones who have become separated for any reason.

Julia Made
Julia Made
store : Ancestry
review date : Oct 26 2021
Product Purchased : DNA Kit
Purchased DNA Kit : Oct 10 2021
3.9 Selection Experience
4.3 Coupon Selection
4.2 Payment Process
4.0 Refund / Cashback
4.2 User Interface

“Happy with the results”

  • overall experience

    My spouse has been curious about his paternal DNA for a long time. On his maternal side, he has a history. His great-grandfather was a guard for the Danish king, and his grandparents moved from Denmark. We've even taken photographs. His results revealed that he is barely 8% Scandinavian. This is probably not the source you want to utilize if you want significant results.

Bruce Willey
Bruce Willey
store : Ancestry
review date : Oct 25 2021
Product Purchased : DNA Kit
Purchased DNA Kit : Oct 05 2021
1.3 Selection Experience
1.5 Coupon Selection
1.2 Payment Process
1.5 Refund / Cashback
1.2 User Interface

“Mixed Results”

  • overall experience

    This product is not something I would recommend to anyone. It appears to be a gimmick to me. I took the Ancestry's DNA test a few months back and the results came out a few weeks back. The details are ambiguous about what nations you are from; it says Eastern European, but when you click on it, it names over 15 countries. I was searching for some concrete information, not this received vague details.

Ursulita Betty
Ursulita Betty
store : Ancestry
review date : Oct 24 2021
Product Purchased : DNA Kit
Purchased DNA Kit : Oct 04 2021
1.4 Selection Experience
2.0 Coupon Selection
1.5 Payment Process
1.3 Refund / Cashback
1.5 User Interface

“Didn't help much”

  • overall experience

    Last year, I ordered two kits for my parents, who were ecstatic to discover about their ancestors. They followed the directions provided in the manual and mailed the packages in the pre-paid boxes. Still, no results were received a year later, and it's impossible to contact the company. My father died last month, and I'm outraged that we'll never know the findings of his tests. More importantly, my family is devastated that he was never informed of his results. He was genuinely excited to learn. It was a complete waste of time and money.

Mathalie Joseph
Mathalie Joseph
store : Ancestry
review date : Oct 21 2021
Services Availed : Geneology
Took Geneology Service : Oct 05 2021
4.6 Selection Experience
4.4 Coupon Selection
4.2 Payment Process
4.4 Refund / Cashback
4.1 User Interface

“Love Geneology”

  • overall experience

    I started researching my family's ancestry when I was 17 years old. I've been working on it, as well as researching the ancestors of many of my friends and family members. It's like reintroducing wandering family members. The delight I witness in people I've aided fills me with a deep sense of affection. I'm now 44 and have had to trim back a bit, but I'm always on the lookout for a new thread to unlock new doors.

Jessica Tyson
Jessica Tyson
store : Ancestry
review date : Oct 20 2021
Product Purchased : DNA Kit
Purchased DNA Kit : Oct 01 2021
4.5 Selection Experience
4.3 Coupon Selection
4.2 Payment Process
4.1 Refund / Cashback
4.0 User Interface

“Quite Helpful”

  • overall experience

    Very pleasant people who are willing to assist with problems. I didn't realize I was deleting the DNA test until it was too late. It wasn't changing to store the DNA, as I had assumed. After a short time in the chat (10-15 minutes), I received an email verifying my mailing address, name, and email. I'm really glad I chose Ancestry.com for a DNA test because I'm getting a fresh kit instead of having to buy one. I've recommended a few friends about this interesting site.

Bryan Mules
Bryan Mules
store : Ancestry
review date : Oct 19 2021
Product Purchased : DNA Kit
Purchased DNA Kit : Oct 05 2021
2.1 Selection Experience
1.5 Coupon Selection
1.6 Payment Process
1.2 Refund / Cashback
1.4 User Interface

“Disappointed with Ancestry”

  • overall experience

    I'm quite dissatisfied with this service. I was ecstatic at the prospect of reuniting with family. I was underwhelmed by the service's capabilities. Facebook and Google have provided me with additional information about this very site. This service is not even close to being worth the $50 monthly fee. I requested a refund, but it was denied. Don't waste your time filling out the useless forms, and don't give them your money.

Adam Blow
Adam Blow
store : Ancestry
review date : Oct 12 2021
Product Purchased : DNA Kit
Purchased DNA Kit : Aug 19 2021
4.3 Selection Experience
4.5 Coupon Selection
4.4 Payment Process
4.0 Refund / Cashback
4.2 User Interface

“Its Magical”

  • overall experience

    The AncestryDNA test revealed that I had a half-brother elder to me. I had never known about this before. Unfortunately, my mother died when I was just 12 years old, over 27 years ago, and there was no one close to my mother who shared this with me. It's as if I've gotten a bit of my mother back in the form of my 3 years elder brother. We'll be eternally thankful to Ancestry for providing us with the resources we needed to find each other.

Lara Warren
Lara Warren
store : Ancestry
review date : Oct 11 2021
Product Purchased : DNA Kit
Purchased DNA Kit : Oct 03 2021
4.6 Selection Experience
4.4 Coupon Selection
4.3 Payment Process
4.3 Refund / Cashback
4.0 User Interface

“Highly Recommend”

  • overall experience

    This is something I would suggest highly if anyone wants to find about their past!!! Because I was adopted, I've always been curious about my family history since my childhood days, and AncestryDNA made it simple to find out! But, in my opinion, the nicest part is that they then share information about probable family relatives too. After 25 years of waiting, I was finally able to contact my biological sister. It was truly overwhelming for me.

Tom Scotterfield
Tom Scotterfield
store : Ancestry
review date : Oct 10 2021
Product Purchased : DNA Kit
Purchased DNA Kit : Aug 02 2021
2.3 Selection Experience
2.0 Coupon Selection
1.8 Payment Process
2.0 Refund / Cashback
1.5 User Interface

“Not Satisfied At All”

  • overall experience

    Two months ago, I ordered two kits for my parents, who were really excited to discover about their ancestors. They followed the directions to the letter and mailed the packages in the pre-paid boxes. Still no results have been shown up yet, and it's impossible to contact the company. Upon waiting for this long, they are a bit disappointed. As they were genuinely excited to learn. It was a complete waste of time and money.

Mike Luke
Mike Luke
store : Ancestry
review date : Oct 07 2021
Product Purchased : DNA Kit
Purchased DNA Kit : Sep 14 2021
2.3 Selection Experience
2.4 Coupon Selection
3.0 Payment Process
1.8 Refund / Cashback
1.6 User Interface

“Not Happy”

  • overall experience

    I took the Ancestry DNA testing in the month of November 2019. This has been going on for two years. They continually asking for another sample, claiming that the first one was bad but not explaining why. Now we're on sample number fifth. My free subscription has expired last month, I won't be able to access my family tree without paying some amount to Ancestry again and again.

Cynthia Mansfield
Cynthia Mansfield
store : Ancestry
review date : Oct 05 2021
Product Purchased : DNA Kit
Purchased DNA Kit : Sep 27 2021
4.8 Selection Experience
4.6 Coupon Selection
4.5 Payment Process
4.3 Refund / Cashback
4.0 User Interface

“Love Ancestry”

  • overall experience

    Ancestry has become one of my favorite websites. I started with their DNA test and learned a lot about my Swedish ancestors and their life.
    My spouse was adopted and took the DNA test with the hope of finding his biological parents. He eventually tracked down his biological mother as well as his biological siblings too. It has made a significant positive impact on our lives.

Adrianna Jane
Adrianna Jane
store : Ancestry
review date : Oct 04 2021
Product Purchased : DNA Kit
Purchased DNA Kit : Sep 22 2021
4.3 Selection Experience
4.3 Coupon Selection
4.0 Payment Process
4.5 Refund / Cashback
4.2 User Interface

“Liked the shown result”

  • overall experience

    My biological parents had left me at an orphanage when I was just 2.5 years old. I was adopted by an Oregon-based couple. They didn't have any children at that time after six years of their marriage. One of my acquaintances at work told me about Ancestry.com. I'd never had the desire to learn more about my biological parents until lately when a buddy told me about these excellent results. I considered getting their DNA test kit and signing up for a 14-day free Ancestry membership trial to see how things work. The results are awaiting.

Adam Jones
Adam Jones
store : Ancestry
review date : Sep 29 2021
Services Availed : Family Tree
Discovered Family Tree : Sep 12 2021
4.6 Selection Experience
4.0 Coupon Selection
4.3 Payment Process
4.5 Refund / Cashback
4.2 User Interface

“Great Experience”

  • overall experience

    I never knew there is such a thing as DNA and ethnicity testing existed before I took the test. I submitted my name and other details on the Ancestry site. I also wanted to explore my family tree. The result was definitely a surprise, I had no idea my ancestors were actually from India. My great grandparents were living in the Kolkata city of India. After that, he moved to the US in the year 1929 for his studies. This revelation was indeed very interesting.

Mike Ozark
Mike Ozark
store : Ancestry
review date : Sep 28 2021
Services Availed : DNA Testing
Took DNA testing : Aug 29 2021
4.2 Selection Experience
4.0 Coupon Selection
4.2 Payment Process
4.5 Refund / Cashback
3.9 User Interface

“Took DNA testing”

  • overall experience

    Around a month ago, I took the Ancestry's DNA test to find out more about my parents. I was too eager to know about their birthplace, culture, and occupations. I was waiting for the results to come. 

    The result has been sent to me just two days back. I am quite surprised by seeing the data provided on the basis of my DNA traits. My grandparents were born in a small city in Michigan. They were basically small traders in their own time. Some of the information provided is quite true and still undiscovered by many of my family members.

Meena Harris
Meena Harris
store : Ancestry
review date : Sep 27 2021
Product Purchased : DNA Kit
Purchased DNA Kit : Sep 20 2021
4.5 Selection Experience
4.4 Coupon Selection
4.5 Payment Process
4.3 Refund / Cashback
4.0 User Interface

“Founded my Roots”

  • overall experience

    I came to know about Ancestry from one of my office mates. He has used Ancestry's DNA kit once to find out his family tree. Although, he got only limited information as he was just taking a free trial. I was quite impressed to know about the services offered by this site. I did my research and ordered a DNA kit to know about my ancestors and roots. I have submitted my sample through the kit. I am really excited about the result.