Home > Stores > Entertainment > Cineplex Store > User Reviews
Cineplex Store

Cineplex Store Reviews

20 Total Reviews
Selection Experience
Coupon Availablilty
Payment Process
Refund / Cashback
User Interface
Overall Experience
Overall Rating (out of 5)

2.8

Based on 20 reviews Write A Review
Write A Review

Selection Experience

Coupon Selection

Payment Process

Refund / Cashback

User Interface


Cineplex Store RENT A MOVIE FOR $0.99 ONLY (May 23-24)
Peach
Peach
store : Cineplex Store
review date : Mar 05 2022
Product Purchased : Purchased Movie
Movies : Mar 03 2022
1.0 Selection Experience
1.0 Coupon Selection
1.0 Payment Process
1.0 Refund / Cashback
1.0 User Interface

“Pathetic App”

  • overall experience

    Incredibly unreliable. Hasn't improved in all the years I've been using it. Purchases often are not playable if you let them sit in your library for a day or two. I currently have 2 movies I've purchased but can't watch due to errors (roku app doesn't even acknowledge I bought them). No favorites save is ridiculous. Logs itself out often or requires relogging in for purchases to show up. Hopefully Netflix buys them out soon, cause they wouldn't accept this embarrassing level of performance.

Barbara Moorey
Barbara Moorey
store : Cineplex Store
review date : Mar 04 2022
Service Availed : Purchased Movie
Movies : Mar 02 2022
5.0 Selection Experience
5.0 Coupon Selection
5.0 Payment Process
5.0 Refund / Cashback
5.0 User Interface

“Not Good”

  • overall experience

    I have purchased movies and watched rented with no problem. I tested watching a movie on my tabket while streaming another on my Android box. people with viewing issues; make sure to clean up your cache, limit internet access on other devices during watching, pay for a better internet connection...or get off the internet.

Richard
Richard
store : Cineplex Store
review date : Mar 03 2022
Service Availed : Purchased Movie
Movies : Mar 01 2022
2.0 Selection Experience
2.0 Coupon Selection
2.0 Payment Process
2.0 Refund / Cashback
2.0 User Interface

“Just Not Worth It”

  • overall experience

    This app really is a terrible user experience. You rent a movie and cannot play it, with just an error about the session token being approved. I only give it two stars because I discovered that once you start the movie in a web browser, the error in this app magically goes away for a while. There's something very wrong with their DRM handover for streaming.

Ben
Ben
store : Cineplex Store
review date : Mar 02 2022
Service Availed : DVD
Purchased movies : Feb 28 2022
3.0 Selection Experience
3.0 Coupon Selection
2.0 Payment Process
2.0 Refund / Cashback
2.0 User Interface

“Many problems”

  • overall experience

    Poor layout and a labyrinth to navigate
    -Difficult to purchase tickets and lacks privacy (no guest checkout)
    -Advance ticket sales not available for purchase using the available "Get Tickets" button for future release movies
    -No way to email Cineplex — must call or chat
    -Embedded advertising makes it look cheap
    -Monopoly on industry offers little incentive for improvements.

Tita Mendy
Tita Mendy
store : Cineplex Store
review date : Mar 01 2022
Service Availed : Movie
Movie Purchased : Feb 27 2022
5.0 Selection Experience
5.0 Coupon Selection
5.0 Payment Process
5.0 Refund / Cashback
5.0 User Interface

“The BEST APP for movies”

  • overall experience

    A great way to enjoy movies, especially during COVID! I have a Samsung Note 8, and we have an older Samsung TV from 2010. The app cast seamlessly from my phone to a Chromecast dongle plugged into the TV. No lag, no interruptions, just a great movie and a way to support Cineplex during this tough time! 

    I have installed this app with Android version 6.0.1 tablet, it gave me a lot of troubles, e.g. "We were unable to acquire the license" error and failing to cast. Switched it to my second tablet with Android version 7.1.1, and played back nicely, good quality HD video and surround sound. Loving it, I can pay with my Scene points

jonas jager
jonas jager
store : Cineplex Store
review date : Feb 22 2022
Service purchased : movies
movies used : Feb 16 2022
4.3 Selection Experience
3.0 Coupon Selection
4.6 Payment Process
4.5 Refund / Cashback
4.0 User Interface

“New Releases At Home”

  • overall experience

    I have been using Cineplex Store for a long time now. I love the service that they provide. They have a wide list of good movies and shows. I have always enjoyed it and hope this continues. I have found their customer service to be of tremendous help, especially when I had some issues.

    People at Cineplex Store are a good lot. The Cineplex Store coupons are in plenty to help me every time. They also come up with some deals every now and then. I recently availed their deal whereby I could watch all the recent releases like A Journey Of Jordan, Matrix etc. from the comforts of my home. It is all going well so far.

Brant
Brant
store : Cineplex Store
review date : Feb 10 2022
Product Purchased : Movie
Movie Purchased : Feb 09 2022
3.0 Selection Experience
3.0 Coupon Selection
3.0 Payment Process
3.0 Refund / Cashback
3.0 User Interface

“Used to be good”

  • overall experience

    used to be good, especially because of the scenes pts, but now it sucks, and it does a great job at sucking too. Always unable to download, continuously login me out, streaming quality is around 240p or maybe 360p at max. Promising good content and good quality, cineplex suceeded at not able to deliver any.

Lene
Lene
store : Cineplex Store
review date : Feb 08 2022
Service Availed : Movie
Movie Purchased : Feb 07 2022
2.0 Selection Experience
2.0 Coupon Selection
2.0 Payment Process
2.0 Refund / Cashback
2.0 User Interface

“Glitchy is an Understatement for this”

  • overall experience

    Only works 50% of the time - purchase or rental. Takes your money or Scene points immediately but when go from the website to your app and click My Library and press play... nothing happens except a pop up error message: The operation could not be completed. I want my Scene points back

Mr Moerby
Mr Moerby
store : Cineplex Store
review date : Feb 06 2022
Service Availed : Movie
Movie Purchased : Feb 04 2022
4.0 Selection Experience
4.0 Coupon Selection
4.0 Payment Process
4.0 Refund / Cashback
4.0 User Interface

“Works Great”

  • overall experience

    No issues so far. I don’t use the mobile app version, just the Apple TV version. The only annoying thing is you have to rent or buy the movie via their website first. The app is only for watching the movies in your library but it’s great at that task. This is probably to get around Apple’s insane commission fees.

Paul
Paul
store : Cineplex Store
review date : Feb 05 2022
Service Availed : Movie
Movie Purchased : Feb 02 2022
1.0 Selection Experience
1.0 Coupon Selection
1.0 Payment Process
1.0 Refund / Cashback
1.0 User Interface

“Would have given 0 stars if its an option”

  • overall experience

    Should be a zero star option…
    Decided to take in a movie tonight at the Cineplex VIP theater at:
    3531 Wyecroft Rd
    Oakville ON L6L 0B7
    Canada
    This VIP theater has the most uncomfortable, horrible seats with no leg room. They didn’t even have cup holders.
    Not worth paying the extra for VIP at this theater.

levi gray
levi gray
store : Cineplex Store
review date : Feb 04 2022
Service purchased : movies
movies used : Jan 30 2022
4.6 Selection Experience
5.0 Coupon Selection
4.2 Payment Process
3.0 Refund / Cashback
3.5 User Interface

“All Movies At One Place”

  • overall experience

    Cineplex Store has been used by me for a few months now. The mobile app is never difficult to use and it is never a great task to buy and rent movies and television series. I have faced no issues anywhere. Everything was smooth so far. If you have not yet checked out Cineplex Store, you should give it a try. 

    The Cineplex Store deals helped me in getting new movies at just $0.99 onwards. I typically check Zouton before proceeding with anything so that I get to know the discounts easily. The movie bundles were available at a 20% discount for me. I chose the Spiderman collection. On the whole, Cineplex Store is a great place.

Benjamin Jruke
Benjamin Jruke
store : Cineplex Store
review date : Oct 26 2021
Product Purchased : Movie
Movie Purchased : Sep 29 2021
3.0 Selection Experience
3.0 Coupon Selection
3.0 Payment Process
3.0 Refund / Cashback
3.0 User Interface

“Okaish!!!”

  • overall experience

    It's an ok app but it would be nice if you could cast movies to other screens from your phone and I think it's absolutely ridiculous that you can't physically download owned movies directly to your device or computer without the app. If I PAYED FOR IT and now OWN IT why can't I have the mp4 file and say, copy it to my PS4 or my PC? I would give it 5 stars then but for now, other than that and regret, it's an app that's lacking features. I should have just bought my movie somewhere else...

Laura Wash
Laura Wash
store : Cineplex Store
review date : Oct 25 2021
service purchased : Movie
Movie Purchased : Oct 11 2021
2.0 Selection Experience
2.0 Coupon Selection
2.0 Payment Process
2.0 Refund / Cashback
2.0 User Interface

“Ridiculous App”

  • overall experience

    ridiculous app. Very disappointed as I love the Cineplex in my area. have terrible difficulty downloading to devices. only fix seems to be to delete and reinstall app which means I loose any movies I have managed to get. when I tried the chat help I was told that Disney movies wont download when half my library is Disney. told to reach out Disney,when asked they had never heard of the problem. it just took an hour to download a movie, whike google movies has finished as I typed this

James Charron
James Charron
store : Cineplex Store
review date : Oct 20 2021
Product Purchased : Movie
Movie Purchased : Oct 16 2021
5.0 Selection Experience
5.0 Coupon Selection
5.0 Payment Process
5.0 Refund / Cashback
5.0 User Interface

“Easy to use, user friendly, great HD quality, no buffering or streaming issues”

  • overall experience

    I have installed this app with Android version 6.0.1 tablet, it gave me a lot of troubles, e.g. "We were unable to acquire the license" error and failing to cast. Switched it to my second tablet with Android version 7.1.1, and played back nicely, good quality HD video and surround sound. Loving it, I can pay with my Scene points

Thomas
Thomas
store : Cineplex Store
review date : Oct 19 2021
Product Purchased : Movie
Movie Purchased : Oct 04 2021
2.0 Selection Experience
2.0 Coupon Selection
2.0 Payment Process
2.0 Refund / Cashback
2.0 User Interface

“Even a free rental isn't worth it.”

  • overall experience

    Had a free rental from Cineplex. Had a bad experience with their streaming before, but figured I'd try again for free. Totally overpriced.

    First, the picture quality was terrible. We definitely rented HD, but the picture was grainy and full of artifacts.

    Second they zoomed in and cropped the movie so it would fit perfectly on my 16:9 tv. I don't mind if that's an option, but don't force me to crop my movie. Let me see the whole thing the way it was filmed. Had the same problem last time I rented from them.

    After almost 30 minutes of troubleshooting we simply paid money to rent the same movie from Google Play instead. Worked perfectly and looked great. Avoid the Cineplex store like the plague.

Gokhan Basaran
Gokhan Basaran
store : Cineplex Store
review date : Oct 18 2021
Product Purchased : Movie
Movie Purchased : Oct 04 2021
1.0 Selection Experience
1.0 Coupon Selection
1.0 Payment Process
1.0 Refund / Cashback
1.0 User Interface

“Ruined my Family Movie Night”

  • overall experience

    Movie night ruined!! When you rent a movie even with casting option it will not cast to android tv and will give error messages, you can watch through your hand held device without any issue tho. I paid $4.99 for a movie that i cannot cast and end up paying another $4.99 to google movie for the same movie and worked flawlessly. Lesson learnt, deleted the app and i will never use it,and i wouldn't suggest it if you think to cast your big screen for a movie night with family!!

Lene Bean
Lene Bean
store : Cineplex Store
review date : Oct 15 2021
service purchased : Movie
Purchased movies : Oct 05 2021
2.0 Selection Experience
2.0 Coupon Selection
2.0 Payment Process
2.0 Refund / Cashback
2.0 User Interface

“Glitchy is an understatement”

  • overall experience

    Only works 50% of the time - purchase or rental. Takes your money or Scene points immediately but when go from the website to your app and click My Library and press play... nothing happens except a pop up error message: The operation could not be completed. I want my Scene points back.

Michael D.
Michael D.
store : Cineplex Store
review date : Oct 14 2021
Service Availed : Movie
Movie Purchased : Oct 15 2021
2.0 Selection Experience
2.0 Coupon Selection
2.0 Payment Process
2.0 Refund / Cashback
2.0 User Interface

“Clunky, slow, and amateur: you're better off avoiding it altogether”

  • overall experience

    I ended up here to look up showtimes for a movie today and saw that I could just purchase tickets online. Great. So I attempted to do so but first I needed to register. Fine. First I tried the social login option but it didn't respond to Facebook at all. So now I had to create an account from scratch. Ugh. The hoops these people make me jump through just to see a movie... ridiculous. Now I'm thinking maybe I'll just stream something online or watch Netflix at home. But I proceeded... once I was activated (email is sent to activate account), it wouldn't let me login on a desktop. I clicked login but it simply did not respond. No error message, no time out, just nothing. On a mobile device it worked so I tried to buy tickets there- worst decision of the day. TERRIBLE mobile experience, it was clunky and very amateurly designed - not at all with the user in mind. Once I added my credit card details, and clicked "purchase" I got an error message saying payment could not be processed. So I tried again. Same error message. I've given up. I'm just going to go home and watch Netflix. Another point for Netflix and another loss for the theater business.

Charles M
Charles M
store : Cineplex Store
review date : Oct 12 2021
Product Purchased : Movie
Movie Purchased : Oct 10 2021
3.0 Selection Experience
3.0 Coupon Selection
3.0 Payment Process
3.0 Refund / Cashback
3.0 User Interface

“Love platform. But your App doesn't want to work on my phone”

  • overall experience

    Just set up my account, Installed an app on my phone and it keeps saying there is a network error, however, everything is ok with the connection.

Peach Selinger
Peach Selinger
store : Cineplex Store
review date : Oct 07 2021
Service Availed : Movie
Purchased movies : Oct 01 2021
3.0 Selection Experience
3.0 Coupon Selection
3.0 Payment Process
3.0 Refund / Cashback
3.0 User Interface

“Out of sync subtitles”

  • overall experience

    It’s not that bad overall but every movie I’ve seen has had the subtitles out of sync. I choose to rent using Cineplex to try to support a Canadian company but it’s honestly a way better experience to use Amazon, Apple or any of the other options. I hope you guys are able to improve this