Login
Home > Stores > Education > edX > User Reviews
edX

edX Reviews

14 Total Reviews
Selection Experience
Coupon Availablilty
Payment Process
Refund / Cashback
User Interface
Overall Experience
Overall Rating (out of 5)

3.8

Based on 14 reviews Write A Review
Write A Review

Selection Experience

Coupon Selection

Payment Process

Refund / Cashback

User Interface


edX SAVE UP TO 15% ON EDX COURSES (Oct 17-18)
Mike C.
Mike C.
store : edX
review date : Oct 16 2021
Service Availed : Online Course
Online Course Purchased : Sep 28 2021
3.0 Selection Experience
4.0 Coupon Selection
4.0 Payment Process
4.0 Refund / Cashback
4.0 User Interface

“Learn the skills you want for a reasonable price”

  • overall experience

    edX makes it easy for you to find the education you want, at a price you can afford. As a software programmer it is important for me to stay up to date on new updates to the languages I use, and edX has a large catalog of courses to help me. I've even picked up some new languages because the courses of fun and easy to use. edX itself is smartly constructed to give you access to your courses and course material easily. I highly recomment it edX.

Max L.
Max L.
store : edX
review date : Oct 14 2021
Service Availed : Online Course
Online Course Purchased : Aug 17 2021
4.0 Selection Experience
5.0 Coupon Selection
4.0 Payment Process
5.0 Refund / Cashback
4.0 User Interface

“My Top choice for learning and getting certified”

  • overall experience

    There is not Fee to learn. That is awesome, So you can after pay if you want it.
    So you can basically go learn, and them evaluate if you want to do or not the certification that is totally awesome.
    Love the way looks, and also you have language options, as spanish, french, so you can also learn on your own language.
    Amazing. Love it.

    This is an unbelievable learning experience of very very high quality and definitely a great tool for education at every level that must be view and review by officials and private institutions

    I think edx.org will become soon a truly giant...

Tom D.
Tom D.
store : edX
review date : Oct 13 2021
service purchased : Online Course
Online Course Purchased : Sep 26 2021
2.0 Selection Experience
2.0 Coupon Selection
2.0 Payment Process
2.0 Refund / Cashback
2.0 User Interface

“EdX courses are sloppy, disjointed and frustrating”

  • overall experience

    20 year teacher here. Thought I would take an edX course. Paid money too. Two courses so far and very sloppy, full of text errors, instructors are brief, navigating the platform is confusing and seeing your grades or progress is confusing as well. Seems like a massive scam to me. Very frustrated indeed.

Allison
Allison
store : edX
review date : Oct 08 2021
Service Availed : Online Course
Online Course Purchased : Sep 26 2021
5.0 Selection Experience
5.0 Coupon Selection
5.0 Payment Process
5.0 Refund / Cashback
5.0 User Interface

“Rather good platform”

  • overall experience

    Rather good platform. Most people who are there are rather decent, be that profs or students.

    As to comments, I enjoy reading the most of it.

    Anyhow, and I don’t know this for sure , I feel there are some people who join some time of free access and just want to be entertained or provoke others with stupid and one-sided comments and provoke a reaction.
    Those people are no fun. The most healthiest way would be to ignore them.
    Yet they are so dumb, that I am really wondering every time I read this: what are they doing here? They should play a major part in the Dr.-Phil-Show. This is where they belong!

Rocky M.
Rocky M.
store : edX
review date : Oct 06 2021
Service Availed : Online Course
Online Course Purchased : Sep 28 2021
3.0 Selection Experience
3.0 Coupon Selection
3.0 Payment Process
3.0 Refund / Cashback
3.0 User Interface

“Good content - poor customer service”

  • overall experience

    In general, I am very content with the quality and structure of the courses. Two weeks ago, I have been offered a refund so I can switch to another course (within the same professional certificate path), however have not heard anything back since then. I have responded twice to accept the offer and for further instructions, but have been ignored. This is a very poor customer service, and I would never have expected that from an institution like edX.

Ricuk
Ricuk
store : edX
review date : Oct 04 2021
Service Availed : Online Course
Online Course Purchased : Oct 08 2021
5.0 Selection Experience
5.0 Coupon Selection
5.0 Payment Process
5.0 Refund / Cashback
5.0 User Interface

“The second best MOOC provider”

  • overall experience

    edX was the first MOOC provider that I used; Coursera being the other, a bit later. I've completed about 20 courses on edX, getting good marks between 90% and 100%.
    Microsoft used to provide very good courses on edX, including ones on SQL Server, Analysis Services, Integration Services, Power BI, and Excel. These were relevant to my work. Unfortunately, Microsoft has pulled out and these courses are no longer available. Microsoft has changed its focus more to cloud services in Azure and Microsoft 365 and is doing its own training courses. (My business partner is doing some of the writing for Microsoft Docs.)
    I've done three courses of a MicroMasters program "Internet of Things" by Curtin University, which is really good. I want to finish that one day. I had a bit of an argument with Curtin when they tried to close one course a week earlier than published. I won the argument and was able to finish the course, but it left a bit of a bad taste. If I had not argued my case, I would have lost my money and would have had to repeat the course. edX was no help in this dispute. To Curtin: just try being nice to your MOOC students.
    Most recently, I did a course by University of Tokyo, which I really liked. I'm learning Japanese language and so am interested in Japan and Japanese culture. The course was about the geo-history of Tokyo, which is the largest city in the world. Professor Shunya Yoshimi gives a guided tour of Tokyo, interspersed with lectures, pointing out places of historical interest hidden amongst the modern buildings. (I liked the Ana Inari shrine with stone foxes outside.)
    I tried a Japanese language course by Waseda University, but that wasn't much good. It tries to use immersion techniques rather like Rosetta Stone, but I don't find that at all effective. (Coincidentally, I've had two language teachers on italki, who both graduated from Waseda, which is a private university in Tokyo.)
    I think it's so amazing being able to do online courses from top universities around the world. On the downside, edX support was no help when I had a dispute with Curtin University and I got the impression that MOOC students are regarded as rather second-class citizens.
    Just recently, edX has been bought by 2U and it's unclear what will happen. People are saying this might be the end of edX. I hope not.

Anne John
Anne John
store : edX
review date : Sep 30 2021
Service Availed : online course
online course : Sep 11 2021
4.0 Selection Experience
3.0 Coupon Selection
4.0 Payment Process
3.0 Refund / Cashback
4.0 User Interface

“The Best Course I have Done in My Life”

  • overall experience

    This pandemic has really made all of us lazy. After completing my last year of college in 2020, I was mostly sitting idle at home. There was almost nothing for me to do and I was wasting most of my time watching TV. I have always had an interest in graphic designing so my mother told me about this graphic designing course at edx. So I enrolled in the Graphic design masterclass at a discounted price. Since I have joined this course, I feel like I am doing something productive. It’s been a week and I am enjoying every bit of it. I joined the course on 11th May. This is definitely going to help me in the future. The things that are being taught in the course are really important and their way of teaching makes it really easy to understand everything.

Joseph Saxon
Joseph Saxon
store : edX
review date : Sep 28 2021
Service Availed : online course
online course : Sep 16 2021
4.0 Selection Experience
4.0 Coupon Selection
4.0 Payment Process
4.0 Refund / Cashback
4.0 User Interface

“Best Course Ever”

  • overall experience

    I enjoyed learning the skills for life coaching and health and wellness. It allowed me to gain knowledge about nutrition and many ways to be healthy and help others. Learning from the instructor was interesting and the easy to follow steps gave me motivation and wanting to learn more and more. I have taken 5 courses from edx so far and enjoyed all of them and learned a lot. Will surely return for more course materials for a enahncing learning experience soon.

Albino
Albino
store : edX
review date : Sep 27 2021
Service Availed : online course
online course : Sep 08 2021
5.0 Selection Experience
5.0 Coupon Selection
5.0 Payment Process
5.0 Refund / Cashback
5.0 User Interface

“Beginner To Advanced”

  • overall experience

    I was looking for the classes of Data Science over the internet for some deep thorough knowledge. Getting my hands on the data science classes was not an easy task at all. I had to do random searches on the internet, go through each of it and analyzing each of it through contacting each individual separately.

    I called every online class platform and inquired about the courses of Data Science and everything about it - the price, duration, and the trainer. It was seeming all okay, but how to know the actual insight?

    I checked the reviews on the internet about the online classes and edX was on top of the recommendations, so I went ahead with it and availed my classes on 08th Sept 2021. The classes providing are really apt and to the point while giving the facts about Data Science.

Anne Wilson
Anne Wilson
store : edX
review date : Sep 23 2021
Service Availed : Online Course
Online course : Aug 25 2021
4.5 Selection Experience
4.3 Coupon Selection
4.0 Payment Process
4.4 Refund / Cashback
4.0 User Interface

“Affordable and Variety of Courses”

  • overall experience

    edX is very simple to use. Their learning method is incredible, they have the best-qualified professors from different universities to teach. They make the teaching very easy by just starting from the base. Everyone student can learn and get certificates easily.

    I attended their Introduction to Psychology course and found it to be quite useful and educational. The portions were easy to follow, the professor was interesting, and there weren't too many steps to sign up like I've seen in other online courses. I would strongly advise this subject because it is applicable to a wide range of workplaces and scenarios. The best part is that many of their free courses are quite interesting and practical, and the paid courses are not too expensive. 

    They have a variety of options, anyone can explore any course they are interested in. I guarantee that you will definitely like it. Definitely try at least one course. 

Jessica Thomas
Jessica Thomas
store : edX
review date : Sep 21 2021
Service purchased : Online course
Online course used : Sep 20 2021
4.0 Selection Experience
3.9 Coupon Selection
3.8 Payment Process
4.1 Refund / Cashback
4.2 User Interface

“Study at your own pace from your home”

  • overall experience

    I enrolled for the course “Fighting for Equality: 1950-2018” that is provided by Columbia University from edX. It is not the first time I have enrolled myself for a course from edX. I have done a course on “Women Making History: Ten Objects, Many Stories” earlier. It is really easy and comfortable to learn with edX. 

    The best part is that you can learn at your own pace from the comforts of your house. I did the other course while I was doing my Master’s degree and was unsure if I would be able to manage both, but I could. I took the first course for free but I took the paid one for this. It will cost you only 2-3 hours per week for 10 weeks. With that you will be done with the course. If you opt for the paid course, you will get unlimited access to the course materials, you will have graded assignments and exams which help you improve further. I recommend everyone to have a look at this website/app if you wish to take on a course along with any other or individually.  

Katie LaRae
Katie LaRae
store : edX
review date : Sep 14 2021
Service purchased : Online course
Online course used : Aug 02 2021
2.0 Selection Experience
2.1 Coupon Selection
2.2 Payment Process
1.0 Refund / Cashback
1.2 User Interface

“Waste of time”

  • overall experience

    I enrolled for a course on Fundamentals of Psychology at edX. I was informed that the entire course duration would be around 8 weeks if I devote 5-10 hours a week. I was eager to start the course as I was sitting idle during that time and was interested in Psychology. 

    But my experience with the course was not satisfying. I did not opt for a paid one as I was new to this and was not sure if it turns out to be good. Luckily for me, that was a good decision. As the course started I found it difficult to follow. Of course, the difficulty of teaching and learning through the computer monitor can be understood but this was different. I could not follow the concepts and was terribly dissatisfied. I ended the course mid-way. It is a waste of time. 

Richard
Richard
store : edX
review date : Sep 10 2021
Service Availed : Online Course
Online course : May 02 2021
4.0 Selection Experience
4.3 Coupon Selection
5.0 Payment Process
5.0 Refund / Cashback
4.4 User Interface

“Quality Content”

  • overall experience

    During this lockdown, we have an option to develop some new skills according to the demand in the industry. So, I looked for python courses online, and since edX is the most used platform for online courses so I enrolled in it. 

    The professor explains so properly, they first started with basics, to clear the concepts properly. So, I finally bought the course which cost me around $45. The best thing about edX courses is that we don't have to fix our schedule according to the classes. Since, I a working individual, so, this feature really benefitted me a lot. I can watch the video anytime I watch. The second best this I liked about it is that we regularly get projects and assignments at the end of each module, this helps us to revise the complete concept again. 

    I completed my course in 4 months, and I earned a certificate with 80% marks. There are still a lot of courses to explore, I am planning to continue learning new skills according to my interest and level. 

    I would recommend everyone to try edX for online courses, you can easily find courses according to your level, interest, and skills. 

Sutton Brady
Sutton Brady
store : edX
review date : Jan 01 1970
Service Availed : Online Course
Online course : Mar 16 2021
2.4 Selection Experience
3.0 Coupon Selection
2.4 Payment Process
1.5 Refund / Cashback
3.0 User Interface

“Never Take edX Program Certificate”

  • overall experience

    I completed my computer graphic program after 6 months but I never received its certificate. When I called them to know the exact status of my certificate, they told me that they didn't have any records. I even showed them my record of taking the course, but they weren't ready to accept it. In the end, I just received an apology mail from their side. I spend $100 per month and another $200 for the certificate. My entire efforts, time, and money have been wasted. I don't have any proof to show to the recruiters that I have taken the course. This place takes advantage of you.