Login
Home > Stores > Education > Books > World of Books > User Reviews
World of Books

World of Books Reviews

13 Total Reviews
Selection Experience
Coupon Availablilty
Payment Process
Refund / Cashback
User Interface
Overall Experience
Overall Rating (out of 5)

2.7

Based on 13 reviews Write A Review
Write A Review

Selection Experience

Coupon Selection

Payment Process

Refund / Cashback

User Interface


World of Books BUY 3+ BOOKS & SAVE 20% (Nov 27-28)
Robert Fraser
Robert Fraser
store : World of Books
review date : Oct 30 2021
Product Purchased : Books
Books used : Aug 17 2021
1.0 Selection Experience
1.0 Coupon Selection
1.0 Payment Process
1.0 Refund / Cashback
1.0 User Interface

“No Refund! No Replacement”

  • overall experience

    I bought two books from this company in mid-July, Several days later, the website showed that they had been sent. Their website says the delivery time is '7-30 working days once shipped**'. So I waited.

    After that time had passed, I tried to ask them the whereabouts of the books. I tried three times, through their Contact Form and Email. Still, there is no response.

    Another thing to worry is that they say 'We are happy to refund an item if it is defective within 30 days of purchase or upon the return of your item.' 30 working days cover a longer period than 30 days. This means you need to complain soon enough. If you follow their instructions, sit back and wait, you are giving up your right to get a refund.

    Having said that, I am still waiting for a response from them. If it turns out things are not that bad, details will be added to this review. Addendum 6 October 2021 The reply is a bit slow, but after all, it came. The problem is still being sorted out.

Mrs Lindsay F
Mrs Lindsay F
store : World of Books
review date : Oct 29 2021
Product Purchased : Books
Books used : Sep 27 2021
2.1 Selection Experience
2.0 Coupon Selection
2.0 Payment Process
2.0 Refund / Cashback
2.0 User Interface

“Not so Good”

  • overall experience

    I have used World of Books before, without a problem, but this time was different.
    I bought a book classed "as good as new", but it was far from it! One page was badly torn and the cover and spine rather tatty. I had bought it as a present, so was disappointed with the condition.

Anna
Anna
store : World of Books
review date : Oct 26 2021
Product Purchased : Books
Books used : Sep 27 2021
2.0 Selection Experience
2.0 Coupon Selection
2.0 Payment Process
2.0 Refund / Cashback
2.0 User Interface

“Misleading”

  • overall experience

    Never buy from this site. !!
    Bought a maths workbook for my DS supposedly in very good condition. Half the book had already been worked on with writing all over !!. I had also paid 50p more than the book's original cost. Same with a piano practice book I bought, “ good condition “? Writing all over. pricing was not cheap either.

    It arrived on time was the only saving grace. Would never ever buy from here ever again

Shin Chou
Shin Chou
store : World of Books
review date : Oct 25 2021
Product Purchased : Books
Books used : Oct 03 2021
1.0 Selection Experience
1.0 Coupon Selection
1.0 Payment Process
1.0 Refund / Cashback
1.0 User Interface

“Poor Customer Care Service”

  • overall experience

    Advertised a book as being in Very Good condition. Pages were literally falling out of it - not attached to the spine at all and the cover was beaten up and somewhat folded, so even if they hadn't noticed the loose paged it shouldn't have been listed as Very Good.

    I contacted them about it, and they said they'd give me a refund if I shipped it back, despite me giving them a picture of the pages separated from the book. Why do they need the book back?

    Finally, they agreed to refund me 25%, which I accepted to avoid the PITA of returning the book and to avoid them using it to get someone else, which they clearly intended to do else why would they want an unsaleable book back?

    Further, they told me "Please remove the return request, so we may refund you correctly". No, I won't abandon the only protections I have prior to getting the refund.

    Avoid this company. They have the worst customer service imaginable.

Nick
Nick
store : World of Books
review date : Oct 21 2021
Product Purchased : Books
Books used : Oct 12 2021
1.0 Selection Experience
2.0 Coupon Selection
2.0 Payment Process
2.0 Refund / Cashback
1.0 User Interface

“Expensive old and often battered books”

  • overall experience

    I have bought books from World Of Books, a UK international, for some time. I finally cracked when the David Mitchell "Ghostwriten", (an award winning book I wanted as a bookshelf keeper) arrived ("Good condition") battered and many loose pages, for A$3.00 less than the new price! My other six books were ordinary to say the least. All these books are available at Big W, Target or Booktopia, new condition, for little more. Also the packaging was so poor, Australia Post had to rewrap the parcel. Never again!

Johnson
Johnson
store : World of Books
review date : Oct 19 2021
Product Purchased : Books
Books used : Oct 05 2021
1.0 Selection Experience
1.0 Coupon Selection
1.0 Payment Process
1.0 Refund / Cashback
1.0 User Interface

“Overcharged”

  • overall experience

    Didn’t even seal my parcel with one of my most recent orders that cost over $67 and am currently waiting for them to sort it out as 7 out of the 10 books are missing. In the past I’ve had books delivered that were damp, pages missing, and with felt tip writing all over them despite being advertised as in good/ excellent condition. I’ve tried to give the benefit of the doubt and have received replacement books but am fed up with the problems I’ve received in getting what I’ve paid for. Once my current issue has been resolved I will take my business elsewhere and will not recommend to any family and friends. A dissatisfied customer

John Lavender
John Lavender
store : World of Books
review date : Oct 18 2021
Product Purchased : Books
Books used : Sep 27 2021
2.0 Selection Experience
2.0 Coupon Selection
2.0 Payment Process
2.0 Refund / Cashback
2.0 User Interface

“Really Bad Service. Would Not Recommend.”

  • overall experience

    Bought a second-hand book described as 'very good condition'. The pages were brown with age and brittle, the cover double over at the corners. In all, in near-scrap condition! 'World of books' ask me for photos; if they can't accept my word then future dealings are not for me. They should be more interested in how the description came to be so inaccurate.

Kent
Kent
store : World of Books
review date : Oct 16 2021
Product Purchased : Books
Books used : Oct 16 2021
4.0 Selection Experience
4.0 Coupon Selection
4.0 Payment Process
4.0 Refund / Cashback
4.0 User Interface

“Overall amazing. Loyal customer.”

  • overall experience

    World of Books is somewhere I usually browse for a month or so before ordering £200+ worth of books. Usually the quality is as described, and the books themselves are often difficult to find elsewhere. The site is perfect for students and those interested in languages. I mention the latter because World of Books is one of the few places you can find foreign language books by native authors in the UK (especially for a fair price). Out of a dozen books, only one or two will be less quality than described. It's a tad annoying when that happens to be the £55.00 brand new book, but in the end ? Books are made to be used and loved, not kept in pristine condition in a display case. I'm very grateful to World of Books for allowing the UK such a wealth of information and entertainment, even after Brexit. I've just received my latest order, so it's time to delve into some rare and should-be-more-expensive textbooks.

Lally
Lally
store : World of Books
review date : Oct 14 2021
Product Purchased : Books
Books used : Oct 13 2021
5.0 Selection Experience
5.0 Coupon Selection
5.0 Payment Process
5.0 Refund / Cashback
5.0 User Interface

“Excellent Service”

  • overall experience

    Everything I have ordered has arrived on time and in good condition, so I'm impressed by the service.

    I mainly buy DVDs. I find it's worth checking out used prices on other websites before ordering from World of Books, but I must admit that World of Books is usually highly competitive price-wise. I like to think I'm helping the planet by buying stuff that might otherwise end up in landfill.

    It's good that postage is included, too, and being able to use PayPal is another big inducement.

Ryan Martin
Ryan Martin
store : World of Books
review date : Oct 11 2021
Product Purchased : Books
Books used : Oct 03 2021
4.0 Selection Experience
5.0 Coupon Selection
5.0 Payment Process
5.0 Refund / Cashback
4.0 User Interface

“Good!”

  • overall experience

    I've placed three separate orders now on World of Books.

    -Quick delivery
    -Excellent prices
    -Used book listings seem to "overestimate damage" or make the books sound in worse condition than they actually are, most of mine were "like new" despite being described as well read/good/very good

    Would definitely use again, no complaints. They have a very wide spread of books, I was looking for very niche books about IT and Data strategy and service management issues.

Savannah C.
Savannah C.
store : World of Books
review date : Oct 06 2021
Product Purchased : Books
Books used : Sep 22 2021
2.0 Selection Experience
2.0 Coupon Selection
2.0 Payment Process
2.0 Refund / Cashback
2.0 User Interface

“Order canceled without notice, only given partial refund”

  • overall experience

    I ordered a book, recieved confirmation email, then never received anything else. After about 10 days I sent email to find out when it would be shipped, I was told it had been canceled and refunded. I did check and I did have a refund, but not for the total price a paid. And the website still listed my order as confirmed, not canceled, and I never received any email that it had been canceled. Still haven't received reply to my email about why my refund wasn't for the full amount ir why it was even canceled. Ordered the book from another site that I have only had good interactions with.

Roberta M
Roberta M
store : World of Books
review date : Oct 04 2021
Product Purchased : Books
Books used : Sep 26 2021
4.0 Selection Experience
4.0 Coupon Selection
4.0 Payment Process
5.0 Refund / Cashback
5.0 User Interface

“Good second hand books for good prices”

  • overall experience

    I have done multiple orders with world of books and so far everything in good condition. Some books are in better condition than others but as long as there are no missing pages I'm totally okay with that. The order has arrived on the date estimated, in a matter of 2/3 days. I really like this website since it gives me the opportunity to read books I for a low price. If you're buying from a second hand book shop you shouldn't be expecting a perfect copy anyway, otherwise you'd buy a brand new book. World Of Books provide an affordable service for people who love reading

Bela Snow
Bela Snow
store : World of Books
review date : Oct 01 2021
Product purchased : Books
Books used : Aug 29 2021
3.0 Selection Experience
4.0 Coupon Selection
4.0 Payment Process
4.0 Refund / Cashback
4.0 User Interface

“Condition of the books is very neat”

  • overall experience

    Although the ordering process is simple, it would be beneficial if the books were labelled as Paperback, Hardback, or Electronic. I just ordered a Harry Potter novel, which showed out to be a hardcover. I returned it, but received no response. I eventually ordered a Paperback version of the book.

    harry potter books

    Otherwise, the service is fantastic, and the selection of books is incredible; I have yet to find a book that you don't have. My most recent order included a book with only 2000 copies made. I recommend the world of books to all as they have the best books and also limited edition books are available in the right condition. Through zouton I was able to crack the nice deal on these books by using World of Books promo codes.